EDCI 337 Assignment 3B: Updating Multimedia Learning Object

For assignment 3B, I went back to the screencasting video in topic 3 and decided to update the video with more multimedia learning principles to follow.

Since this form of knowledge transfer is through screencasting and voice, my work already follows some multimedia learning principles like the Segmenting principle, since learners can choose to pause and continue the video and learn at their own paces.

There are several modifications I made to my video. I shortened the video to 3 minutes compared to 5 minutes by cutting some irrelevant knowledge transfer. For instance, I no longer introduce the basic knowledge needed to finish this tutorial. Instead, I followed the Pre-training principle and gave the learners a way to gain the knowledge necessary to catch up on my tutorial by giving them a note before the video starts.

The second thing I did to improve my video is that I followed the Signalling principle and put up some notes in the form of text besides my voice and the video so that the learners understand much more clearly than before. For example, I highlighted where I want the audience to look at 2:08, and I included how to operate in text form at 2:55.

Overall, I feel confident that this video tutorial now has much better knowledge transfer efficiency because of the new principles that I followed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *